Italian Regions and Capoluoghi

A map of the southern Italian regions A map of the southern Italian regions Photo by Tatiana Rodriguez on Unsplash

There are 20 regions (Regioni) in Italy. The most North one is Trentino - Alto Adige and the most South one is Sicily, which is also the biggest island in Italy. In terms of population, Lombardia is the biggest region, with 10 million people, while the smallest one is Valle d’Aosta with only 125 thousand inhabitants. Valle d’Aosta is also the smallest region in size, with only 3,261 sq/km and with the lowest population density at 39 people per square kilometer.

On the other end of the spectrum, Campania is the most densely populated region in Italy with an average of 424 people per square kilometer, just 2 people more than Lombardia. Regions are also divided into municipalities called Comuni. Lombardia has 1,507 comuni and it is the region with the largest number, followed by Piemonte with 1,181.

Each region has a main city called Capoluogo di Regione. Here is the list of Italian capoluoghi by region:

  • Valle d'Aosta: Aosta
  • Piemonte: Torino
  • Liguria: Genova
  • Lombardia: Milano
  • Trentino Alto Adige: Trento
  • Veneto: Venezia
  • Friuli Venezia Giulia: Trieste
  • Emilia Romagna: Bologna
  • Toscana: Firenze
  • Marche: Ancona
  • Umbria : Perugia
  • Lazio: Roma
  • Abruzzo: L'Aquila
  • Molise: Campobasso
  • Campania: Napoli
  • Puglia: Bari
  • Basilicata: Potenza
  • Calabria: Catanzaro
  • Sicilia: Palermo
  • Sardegna: Cagliari

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.